Sample Libraries, RME TotalMix and a SoundBlaster Digital Output

In my upcoming project, “Kosmoskattens rymdljudsmodul” freely translated as “Cosmic Cat’s Space Sound Module”, I have some soundfonts made by Ian Wilson that I just seem to be able to part with. I’ll post about it later but in short it’s a computer with a SB Live card that is controlled remotely to play these very specific soundfonts built around the EMU circuit.

One problem with these old SB Live cards is that while they do have a digital output (SPDIF), it is fixed at 48 kHz due to the construction of the chip and the poor conversion.
The RME card has no problem with that but I did research my sample libraries and it seems almost all are 44.1 kHz and 16 or 24 bit. All of the NI Battery kits I checked was.
To avoid any degrading conversions (that I may or may not know about) I want to keep my musical projects at 44.1 kHz/24 bit.
Now RME Totalmix does mix different sample rates but when listening I hear a clear degradation when project is 44.1 kHz and the SB Live outputs 48 kHz. So that is a no go.
It seems I’ll have to output an analog signal and route it back into my A/D setup for the best result.
Too bad but it’ll have to do.

.c

Leave a Reply

